The Tomahawk Steak.  The biggest piece of meat I have ever seen!

Steven Saunders Chef

The Tomahawk Steak

I love steak.  Adore steak. Can’t get enough steak.  When my friend Steven told me he was adding a Tomahawk Steak to his specials menu at The Little Geranium in La Cala I knew I had to try it.

Steven Saunders is a well known British chef.  He’s been a regular on TV shows like Ready, Steady, Cook and Pebble Mill, has written best selling book, is one of only 100 Fellow Master Chef’s, and is now based at The Little Geranium with his wife Michele in La Cala De Mijas, on the Costa Del Sol. 

Dinner At The Little Geranium

Elena and I visited at the end of March 2019 for dinner, as soon as we arrived we were shown the Tomahawk steak.  It was enormous.  It looked delicious.  Steven always cries a little when I have steak, because I like it to be cooked (!) though Elena is prefers it rare.

Tomahawk Steak Raw
Our waiter Dylan showed us the Tomahawk as soon as we arrived. It’s huge!!!

While the steak was being prepared, we enjoyed incredible starters.  I ordered the famous crispy duck salad which Steven used to prepare for Diana, Princess Of Wales, at his restaurant in Cambridge.

Crispy Duck Salad
Steven’s famous crispy duck salad.

Elena ordered the Quail Pie, with foie gras and truffle cream.  Of course, I had a bite, and it was divine.  I’ve never eaten quail before.  It’s delicious!

Quail Pie
Delicious quail pie.

The Tomahawk Steak

When the Tomahawk steak was ready, our waiter Dylan presented it at our table before carving it.  I can’t tell you how good it smells, though you can see how amazing it looks right here.  Steven uses Irish beef for this dish, the quality is out of the world.

Tomahawk Steak
The Tomahawk Steak in all it’s glory!

Please don’t shout at me for having the meat cooked too much!  I’ve always been a cremated steak kind of guy.  Over the last few years Steven has been getting me to be more adventurous, but this level of pink is just about my limit for now!

Tomahawk Steak Plate 2
Tomahawk Steak at The Little Geranium

We had garlic potatoes and asparagus with our steak.  Everything went together perfectly.

Tomahawk Steak
The finest steak I’ve ever eaten.

If you love steak, you simply have to try this Tomahawk steak.  It really is incredible.  I’m a huge fan!

Chocolate Fondant
Warm chocolate fondant,

We were absolutely stuffed after the steak, but one can’t visit The Little Geranium without trying one of Danielle’s desserts.  I had the chocolate fondant with cherry ice cream, and Elena had a red velvet cheesecake.  The perfect end to the perfect dinner.

Red Velvet Cheesecake
Baked red velvet cheesecake.